Threads, blocks and grids. A beginners guide!

Hi guys. I’m new to Cuda, having first been trying out OpenCL. I have a polygon intersection routine, that tests whether two polygons are intersecting one another, touching (outside) or one polygon inside another. I do these tests for a large number of offsets also. So the number of calculations i’m doing can be approaching high numbers (hence my idea of using the GPU). It’s meant to be a relatively easy introduction into GPU computing, to get my head around the concepts.

The pseudo c++ code is along the lines of:

// where polygon and offsets is a class/struct containing an array of Point2ds

struct Point2d
{
  double x, y;
};

for (int i = 0; i < polygon1.NumPoints()-1; i++)
{
  Point2d p1 = polygon1[i];
  Point2d p2 = polygon1[i+1];

for (int j = 0; j < polygon2.NumPoints()-1; j++)
  {
    Point2d q1 = polygon2[j];
    Point2d q2 = polygon2[j+1];

for (int k = 0; k < offsets.NumPoints(); k++)
    {
       Point2d offset = offsets[k];
       q1.TranslateBy(offset);
       q2.TranslateBy(offset);

BOOL intersects = IntersectTest(p1, p2, q1, q2);

// etc
    }
  }

}

and my cuda code is something along the lines of:

__global__ void IntersectionKernel(double2 *polygon1, double2 *polygon2, double2 *offsets, 
                                   int numPoints1, int numPoints2, int numOffsets, 
                                   int *results)
{
  int i = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
  int j = blockIdx.y * blockDim.y + threadIdx.y;
  int k = blockIdx.z * blockDim.z + threadIdx.z;

if (i < numPoints1-1 && j < numPoints2-1 && k < numOffsets)
  {
    double p1[2] = {polygon1[i].x,   polygon1[i+1].y};
    double p2[2] = {polygon1[i+1].x, polygon1[i+1].y};

double q1[2] = {polygon2[j].x,   polygon2[j+1].y};
    double q2[2] = {polygon2[j+1].x, polygon2[j+1].y};

double offset[2] = {offsets[k].x, offsets[k].y};

q1.x += offset.x;     q1.y += offset.y;
    q2.x += offset.x;     q2.y += offset.y;