Transfer data from PCIe device to GPU memory? Why not incorporate the SLI bridge into CUDA?

Hi, I have read the FAQ and numerous posts to these forums. I admit that I am new to CUDA and SLI. This is not necessarily a gaming question but one related to parallel processing.

In the faq, there is a question that was asked: “Is it possible to DMA directly into GPU memory from another PCI device”? The answer was “no, but we are working on ways to do that”.

Also, about two years ago, someone on some CUDA forum asked if it was possible to trasfer data from one GPU to another over the SLI bridge, with CUDA. Again, the answer was “no, but we are looking at doing that in future releases of CUDA”.

Clearly, the SLI bridge interface is proprietary, as far as I can tell. I have even found the patent that NVIDA has filed concerning the SLI bridge and it says basically nothing about the interface other than that it exists.

It seems to me that many problems with data transfer in parallel processing can be addressed by using the SLI bridge between graphics cards and other PCIe cards that would be able to exist if they could connect to the SLI bridge.

Why not make the SLI bridge interface available to CUDA users?

Thank You
Tom

We’ve asked about this, and the not-very direct response has been that the SLI bridge is not as high bandwidth as you think. (It’s not even clear how much data goes over it.) A point-to-point copy over the PCI-Express bus between devices would be much faster.

I am not sure, because for SLI gaming benchmarks are faster with SLI bridge.