Trouble parallelizing Jaro-Winkler distance in CUDA

I am new to CUDA C/C++.

In a nutshell, I am trying to parallelize the computation of the Jaro-Winkler string distance of all pairs of strings between two vectors in CUDA.

I have implemented the Jaro-Winkler distance in C++, and it works perfectly well when I run it on the host.

%%cu

#include <iostream>

float jaro_winkler(const char *str1, const int len1, const char *str2, const int len2) {

// Description: This functionn computes the Jaro-Winkler distance between two strings
    //
    // Inputs:
    // - str1: first string
    // - len1: first string's length
    // - str2: second string
    // - len2: second string's length
    // 
    // Output:
    // - dist: Jaro-Winkler distance between str1 and str2

// If both strings are identical, tthe Jaro-Winkler distance between them is 1

if (str1 == str2) {

return 1.0;

} else {

// If either string is null, the Jaro-Winkler distance between str1 and str2 is 0

if (len1 == 0 || len2 == 0) {

return 0.0;

} else {

// We compute the number of matching characters between str1 and str2

// We consider the characters floor(max(len1, len2) / 2) - 1 away from each other

int max_dist = floor(max(len1, len2) / 2) - 1;

int match = 0;

int hash_s1[50] = { 0 }, hash_s2[50] = { 0 };

for (int i = 0; i < len1; i++) {

for (int j = max(0, i - max_dist); j < min(len2, i + max_dist) + 1; j++) {

if (str1[i] == str2[j] && hash_s2[j] == 0) {

// Two characters are matching if they appear in both strings at most max_dist characters away from each other

hash_s1[i] = 1;
                        hash_s2[j] = 1;
                        match++;
                        break;

}

}

}

// If there is no matching characters between both strings, the Jaro-Winkler distance between them is 0

if (match == 0) {

return 0.0;

} else {

// If a positive number of matching characters is found, we need to compute the number of transpositions,