Trouble Running MC-GPU v1.3 with CUDA 5.0

Hello,

I am currently trying to get MC-GPU up and running it is a self contained GPU based Monte Carlo simulator for CT dose calculations that must be ran in a linux environment. I am new to linux and CUDA and find myself running into a few problems. I understand that these may be trivial, but it never hurts to ask.

First off, let me explain my situation.

Using a Lenovo y400 Laptop with Nvidia 650m
Running Ubuntu 12.10
Installed Cuda-5.0, all samples compiled and I ran quite a few to test that they worked
Using Proprietary driver, not dev-driver that came with Cuda-5.0
Wrote a quick “Hello world” cuda program that compiled and ran
I have compiled with the given lines in the code to create the MC-GPU_v1.3.x and run the simple geometry using …/MC-GPU_v1.3.x MC-GPU_v1.3_6voxels.in | tee MC-GPU_v1.3_6voxels.out

I can compile and run the simple geometery code using the CPU compilation but the GPU part I cannot get to work. I haven’t changed anything from the source code and have been only trying to run the given sample simulation so far.

In order to run I must turn off the Xserver so I switch to console, disable the Xserver by calling service lightdm stop and init 3.
When I try to run the code after doing this, I get all print outs to the point of where it states: starting the Monte Carlo Loop Phase and then it tells me that I am executing 7813 blocks of 128 threads with 100 histories in each thread for a total of 100006400 histories in total. After this output, I get an error from line 891 in MC-GPU_v1.3.cu that !!Kernel execution failed while simulating particle tracks!! : (4) unspecified launch failure.