TX2 unable to finish initial flash install

I’ve been trying for two weeks to flash my new board. It keeps failing in post install due to issues with ssh.

My first question is, what is the root password? Nvidia:nvidia doesn’t have sufficient privileges nor does ubuntu:ubuntu.

Up on receipt of the board, it was able to recognize usb. Now it does not.

I am new to Linux. I can ssh to the board (no as a super user). Can someone please help me (link to a general guide) with commands to re enable us?

I think I can complete manual install of cuda once the sudo password is figured out.

Or is this board bricked?

I typed this off my mobile device. I meant to say re enable usb not us.

Linux in general can give individual users root privileges by prefixing commands with “sudo”. If you were to give the root password to each user, then locking out one user would imply needing to lock out everyone. The solution is to use sudo where each user which is in the adm group uses their own password for running something sudo…you could then lock out just the one user by removing them from group adm or by locking that one user account.

Ubuntu takes a somewhat annoying approach of thinking security is increased by not allowing root login and instead only allowing sudo. Users “nvidia” and “ubuntu” are members of group adm, so they do not have root privileges by default, but can use sudo with their own password and access anything root can access. Ubuntu has root account locked out…this is a purely Ubuntu thing unrelated to Jetsons.

Trivia: It is possible to give different users only a subset of commands using sudo, but group adm is a “catch-all” group with all root commands available. Using this you could for example give a web administrator a chown and chmod access without giving them abilities to create and remove accounts.