Unable to use system after retrieving drivers for new graphics card

Hello all. Firstly, let me say, I am quite new to Linux, so please bare with me. A few days ago I purchased a Geforce GTX 750TI card and attempted to install it. The story of what happened afterwards is long and can be found here, where I was asking for help on the Ubuntu help forums, but no one seems to be able to help me fix it: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2257506&page=3&p=13191736#post13191736.

I am unable to provide you with a log as requested in the forum sticky thread, as I am reporting to you from a different machine and I am still new to a lot of technological stuff.

The current situation is this: Installing the latest nvidia driver for my machine made the computer hang after the login screen. After lots of messing around from the system restore menu, and following a user recommendation, I installed nvidia-340 for my driver. It appears I may have several conflicting packages currently installed as driver, but as this is new to me, I am not sure what packages should be listed. I am referring to drivers visiable when entering the ubuntu-drivers device command (which I have explained in the above linked thread). In its current state (with 340 installed) my graphics are even worse than after initial installation, with enourmous text and graphics and nothing fitting on screen. The people on the Ubuntu help forums seem to be out of ideas - please help me fix my computer and get my card running :(

I cut lots of detail as I have linked to a post with plenty in already - please let me know if it is better I just write everything out in here, I just figured it would be easier to read the progression of what has happened thus far from the link. Or ofc if there is any further information I can give you to help.

You don’t need to upgrade to Ubuntu 14.10 and that’s not going to help you anyway.

Let’s recall the situation so we can plan the best path forward.