Understanding the USB Comlex - where does the HostController store data from Interrupt In Endpoints?

Hey there.

I am new with Tegra an Co.
I am working on a Tegra K1 Board using ubuntu 14.04.4 tls.

I unterstood the plugged in usb devices have internal endpoints. I know that the host controller polls these interrupt in endpoints (usb 2.0 touch screen - Hid Device) …

I know that ehci-hcd host controller interface is connected to the PIC (IRQ 129).

So what happens to the data (coordinates, touch event) when the hcd polls the data. where is it stored?
Is it memory mapped? Uses the HCD internal Buffer for this data?

When the Host Controller gives the interrupt to /proc/interrupts / PIC … where can I find the Handling Routine for this interrupt. Where can I find this stored data?

I hope anybody can help me. I tried with the TK1 Manual, the USB2.0 Reference and so on, I tried to find more informations by looking into the usb-touch driver (and ehci_hcd) … but no success.

Thanks in advance!

I can’t answer most of that, but it may help to understand that there are two drivers involved in using any USB end point. The first driver is the USB controller and its operations…but this just deals with the device as a data pipe. Aside from transferring data the pipe is also used for announcing changes to the hot plug layer…the hot plug layer may recognize the device, and a driver will take ownership if you want to know about where the data goes.

Some drivers which might take ownership are standardized classes which use standardized commands for interacting…these are the classes like HID (keyboard, mouse, joystick), USB Video Class (UVC cameras and similar with standard functionality), USB Mass storage (hard drives or bulk transfer), so on. The drivers which service standardized classes are not actually dealing with the USB controller…they’re separate drivers which happen to have knowledge of certain devices as a convenience so every device doesn’t need a custom driver.