Using CUDA to preform OpenGL texture readback in an efficient way

I’m a complete CUDA newbie and have been working on a CUDA/CPP plugin to Unity meant to speed up GPU readback of rendered frames and make the data accessible for a separate process.
The plugin works and does run faster than Unity’s readback methods, but I’m wondering if this is as good as it gets.

The current process is as follows:

Initialization goes like this:

1. An OpenGL texture handle is passed from the engine to my plugin.
  2. The handle is registered using cudaGraphicsGLRegisterImage (specifying a read only flag).
  3. I initialize a shared memory segment on the host (for IPC sharing), aligned to 4096, and page lock the memory using cudaHostRegister.
  4. I save a mapped device pointer to the above using cudaHostGetDevicePointer.

Then for every frame we have:

1. cudaGraphicsMapResources on the resource returned from 2-Initialization.
  2. cudaGraphicsSubResourceGetMappedArray mapping an array to the resource.
  3. cudaMemcpy2DFromArray from the array to the device pointer received in 4-Initialization (with a DeviceToDevice flag).
  4. cudaGraphicsUnmapResources.

That’s it, I don’t need to do any computation, just get the data beck from the GPU. As mentioned, this works and is 2-3 times faster than Unity’s methods, but is still a bit slow for our use case.

I have the following questions:

1. Is the above the correct method for high performance copying? I’ve read arguments for using pinned memory without mapping as well as for this (zero-copy?) method. Is one of them superior to the other for this use case?

2. Would I benefit from paralleling the copy? The images I’m working with are unlikely to be huge (currently benchmarking against 8MB or so).