Using jetson nano with pixhawk4

let me preface this by saying I am new to programming and generally work with javascript for web development. My boss recently wanted me to work on a drone project, that so far has been a little above my head.

currently I have a jetson nano on a drone that is collecting telemetry from a sensor and posting that info online. The drone needs to be able to work in an environment without internet however.

So the solution I am trying to get is to have the nano send that info to a pixhawk4 flight controller and then have the flight controller send information via a telemetry radio. ( I am open to other possible solutions as well though). anyways I believe the first step is to open up a com channel between the nano and the pixhawk. how would I do this? I know that is a vague and open question but again I am completely new to drones and still kind of new to programming so any help would be appreciated. thank you!

Just some partial information…a lot, but generic to understand working with serial UARTs…actually working with UARTs is simple. Assuming you know almost nothing about UARTs.

You will find that what Windows calls a “COM” port is in general called a serial UART (a UART is hardware, a port is a software interface to the hardware). I’m not sure how many serial UARTs are available on your Nano (in part it would depend on whether this is a dev kit using SD card, or whether it is a commercial eMMC model with a third party carrier board). One UART will be set up for serial console, and not available for your use unless you disable serial console. There should be another serial UART which is available for any use you choose. If you need the serial console you can arrange to disable console, but this is usually a bad idea if it isn’t mandatory.