Using PGI as a mex compiler for MATLAB

Hi

MATLAB supports several compilers but PGI is not one of them so I had a go at adding support for it. My notes are written up here

I’m new to using the PGI compiler and have probably done several silly/non-optimal things so comments from more experienced users would be welcomed.

Cheers,
Mike

Hi Mike,

Thanks for putting this together. We very much appreciate your efforts. Hopefully, I can answer some of your questions.

The switch –Mmakedll=export_all is actually not supported by PGI which makes this whole setup doubly unsupported! However, I couldn’t find a way to export the required symbols without modifying the mex source code so I lived with it. Maybe I’ll figure out a better way in the future

The “export_all” option will work for many cases but not in all, hence it’s not officially supported. If it works, great, otherwise users need to decorate symbols using “dllexport”.

Figure out the best set of compiler switches to use– it is almost certain that what I’m using now is sub-optimal since I am new to the PGI compiler.

We recommend starting with “-fast” since in general gives the best performance. It’s really an aggregate of many flags which are adjusted for the particular target architecture. The command “pgfortran -help -fast” will list flags being used. You can try enabling and disabling each of the flags to see how they effect performance, but given the simplicity of the code, you probably not see much difference with some of them. The exception being auto-vectorization (-Mvect) which I would expect to help (more on this later).

FYI, I was going to suggest using -Msafeptr or the restrict keyword but you figured that one out already!

Figure out why the SSE version of this function is slower than the non-SSE version