Using ROS Navigation Stack with Isaac Flatsim

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to Isaac.

For the past few weeks I have been trying to run the ROS navigation stack to make a MiR robot navigate in Flatsim:

I have been following the tutorial to make the TurtleBot 3 Waffle Pi navigate successfully using Flatsim and ROS Bridge.
I found the MiR urdf files, and the ROS driver from github.

To run the turtlebot, one needs to run these two commands:

• ~/isaac/sdk$ TURTLEBOT3_MODEL=waffle_pi roslaunch turtlebot3_navigation turtlebot3_navigation.launch map_file:=$(realpath packages/ros_bridge/maps/small_warehouse.yaml)

• ~/isaac/sdk$ bazel run packages/ros_bridge/apps:ros_to_navigation_flatsim -- --more apps/assets/maps/virtual_small_warehouse.json --config ros_navigation:packages/ros_bridge/maps/small_warehouse_map_transformation.config.json,ros_navigation:packages/ros_bridge/apps/ros_to_navigation_turtlebot3_waffle_pi.config.json

In order to run the MiR robot instead of the Turtlebot, I have modified the first command to launch the MiR navigation instead. Also note that I have modified the MiR launch files accordingly based on the existing Turtlebot files (the changes to the original MiR driver can be found here).

Using this modified driver, I am now running these two commands:

• ~/isaac/sdk$ roslaunch mir_navigation start_planner.launch map_file:=$(realpath packages/ros_bridge/maps/small_warehouse.yaml)

• ~/isaac/sdk$ bazel run packages/ros_bridge/apps:ros_to_navigation_flatsim -- --more apps/assets/maps/virtual_small_warehouse.json --config ros_navigation:packages/ros_bridge/maps/small_warehouse_map_transformation.config.json,ros_navigation:packages/ros_bridge/apps/ros_to_navigation_turtlebot3_waffle_pi.config.json

I have not modified the second command, since I did not find any robot specific details in package packages/ros_bridge/apps:ros_to_navigation_flatsim.