Using texture to speed up sparse matrix mult?

Hello all,

I can’t get the texture unit working as expected.

I am new to graphics programming, so maybe I did not understand the texture-concept correctly.

I am implementing a sparse-matrix multiplication. This comes along with random memory access, i.e. not coalesced. The CUDA programming guide suggests using the texture unit for this. So I replaced:

(source_vector is not sparse)

source_vector[index]

with

cudaBindTexture( tex_source, source_vector, channelDescm_source, size,0) );

// some code using:

texfetch(tex_source, index)

cudaUnbindTexture( tex_source)

It works perfectly in device emulation mode, but not on the card. I get wrong results. Is there something wrong with this way of using textures? The speedup I see is approx. 2.

thanks a lot in advance,

Andreas

Solved (after three hours of debugging):

source_vector was not aligned to 256 bytes.
It seems you can only bind textures to memory locations aligned to 256 bytes.

I am curious, how fast does it work? I implemented a SpMV in CSR and I got only 1.4GFlops …

Hi,

GFlops are not an appropriate unit in this context. The limiting factor is the memory access speed.

Some numbers (all approx):
Aligned copy from global memory to global memory: 52 GB/s
Unaligned copy from gobal memory to global memory: 7 GB/s
Copy with unaligned read from texture, aligned write to global memory: 18 GB/s
(which could be 52 GB/s write and 11 GB/s read)

With these numbers, you end up at speeds between less than 1 GFlops if all operations are unaligned, and more that 3 GFlops if all operations are aligned.

Unaligned reads are hell expensive, unaligned writes are even worse :(