Videorate affecting framerate of stream on other thread

I’m developing an application with the Gst python bindings where I am capturing video from an IMX219 camera. I must be able to do the following: stream the video as h254/h265, save video to a file and save 1 image per second as a jpeg. As I’ve build things up, they have worked really well, except when I added the videorate element to save jpegs to disk. I’m still learning Gstreamer at this point but it seems that the videorate plugin is changing the whole pipeline upstream of the tee and it causes issues like making the udpstream really choppy with around 1 fps and it messes up the whole stream. I have isolated the behavior in this script where I save a jpeg at 1 fps and output to autovideosink at 30fps. I figure I’m missing some critical component to make it so I can have full 30 fps video and save jpegs at 1 fps. What am I doing wrong? Thank you!

gst-launch-1.0 nvarguscamerasrc sensor-id=0 ! "video/x-raw(memory:NVMM),width=1280,height=720" \
! nvvidconv ! "video/x-raw(memory:NVMM),width=1280,height=720" ! tee name=t ! queue ! videorate \ 
! "video/x-raw(memory:NVMM),framerate=30/1" ! autovideosink t. ! queue ! videorate \
! "video/x-raw(memory:NVMM),framerate=1/1" ! nvvidconv \
! "video/x-raw(memory:NVMM),width=1280,height=720" ! nvjpegenc ! multifilesink location="image.jpg"

Hi,
It looks like videorate plugin does not drop frames properly. There are several properties: videorate and would need other users to share suggestion about how to set the properties.

Another solution is to use appsink plugin. May refer to this sample:
Starvation (?) of gstreamer threads - #11 by DaneLLL

I’ll take a closer look at the videorate props to see what I might be missing. Does anyone else have any insight into how I could get two separate streams at different frame rates?