Visualisation for 3D Drawings, Cartographer, Global Planner

Hi!

I am new to Isaac SDK and facing the following problems on visualisation on Sight on SDK version 2019.3. I appreciate if anyone can help me.

1. I can’t seem to zoom in or shift views in 3D drawings around. I followed the instructions found on the documentation but it doesn’t work. Using mouse’s wheel just simply scrolls the entire Sight up and down.

2. I am using Cartographer to perform LiDAR SLAM mapping. Is there anyway to view the merged submaps as mapping is being performed? Right now, I am viewing the map through 3D visualisation of submaps channel. With the problem highlighted in Point#1 and the lag of Sight, it becomes difficult to monitor the mapping process. I can only view the merged submap after I terminate the entire Isaac application and view the final merged map in /tmp/ folder.

I have tried to perform mapping real-time on Xavier but visualisation problem made it difficult to monitor the map. Personally, this is important during mapping process as I can monitor which map area needs correction and, hence, I can drive the robot around that particular area to collect more scan data to perform necessary correction.

1. I am facing some problems in global planner. I used Carter example as my reference and used the entire navigation stack for differential drive robot. The map is attached. My robot has to pass through a small gap along a corridor and I am not sure why global planner is not able to plot a path through that gap. Instead, it plots a more inefficient path that takes a detour. I have adjusted the dimensions of the robot (shared robot model, differential base model and max_coliding_lookup). However, it did not seem to work. Is there anyway that I can view the costmap layer so that I can better understand why global planner is not able to plan a path through a gap?

Please advise. Thank you for your help!

Hello Krittin,

Please see the answers below: