What cards for Ansys? Hardware questions

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to CUDA and parallel processing but am interested in it for a program I use. I am looking to build a new Workstation for use with Solidworks and CATIA design software, as well as Ansys simulation and analysis software.

Next year’s release of Ansys 13, boasts that it supports GPU based Parallel processing, and I am hoping someone here can tell me if that means I need specifically the Tesla cards, or could I use several Geforce cards as processing mules?

Thanks,
Jim

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to CUDA and parallel processing but am interested in it for a program I use. I am looking to build a new Workstation for use with Solidworks and CATIA design software, as well as Ansys simulation and analysis software.

Next year’s release of Ansys 13, boasts that it supports GPU based Parallel processing, and I am hoping someone here can tell me if that means I need specifically the Tesla cards, or could I use several Geforce cards as processing mules?

Thanks,
Jim

From a technical perspective, I don’t see why a GeForce would not work as the compute features are very similar to a Telsa. You should check with Ansys to make sure they haven’t restricted it to Tesla and/or Quadro for some marketing reason.

From a technical perspective, I don’t see why a GeForce would not work as the compute features are very similar to a Telsa. You should check with Ansys to make sure they haven’t restricted it to Tesla and/or Quadro for some marketing reason.

Jim,