when does a kernel return?

I am new to CUDA and here is a naive question: I wrote a finite difference code to do some EM modeling using CUDA, the code looks like

[font=“Courier New”]dim3 gridsize(4,4);

dim3 blocksize(128,128);

global void Update_step1();

global void Update_step2();

cudaMemcpy(…);

for(i=0;i<max_iter;i++){

Update_step1<<<gridsize,blocksize>>>(data1,data2);

Update_step2<<<gridsize,blocksize>>>(data1,data2);

}

cudaMemcpy(…);

[/font]

Indeed, this code was translated from my early version written with Brook (BrookGPU). In Brook, all the kernels are launched in a non-blocking way, it returns immediately no matter it complete or not. One have to use a streamWrite() to wait for all threads complete and retrieve the results. I don’t know how this is implemented in CUDA: does Update_stepx() return immediately as Brook? or it only return when it completes? Do I need to worry about thread synchronization for the above loop?

thanks

the maximum amount of threads per block is 512 (and often less because of the amount of registers used).

You are asking for 10k threads per block.

First off, this won’t work. Maximum allowed blocksize is 512 threads, while 128*128 = 16k. Use smaller blocks and lots of them.

In CUDA, kernels are launched asynchronously (w/o blocking) but they are queued and subsequent ones will not start until the preceding one has finished. Memcopys implicitly block until the last kernel has finished, you don’t need to explicitly synchronize before copying back the results. The loop is fine, no extra synchronization is needed.