3D arrays - where to start?

I am completely new to CUDA, and my reason for wanting to try it out is to see if I can take a C++ script that calculates some large NX x NY x NZ 3D array, and see if it can compute more quickly on my Titan. Right now it’s using OpenMP to parallelize the main calculation which is nice, but I’d like to see if I can obtain more of a speedup using my GPU.

Looking over CUDA now, I understand the very, very basics so far : allocate memory on host and device → copy variables to device → run calculations on device → copy back to host. This didn’t seem too bad at all with basic 1D array calculations. But moving on to the 3D arrays, I am completely lost. What I’m reying to do is the following…

1. Define a float 3D array, called T, and fill it with a default value of 20.0f
  2. Copy this float T, to the device.
  3. Run the calculation, but calculate a new float 3D array called Tn
for (int i=1; i<Nx; i++) {
    for (int j=1; j<Ny; j++) {
         for (int k=1; k<Nz; k++) {
              Tn[i][j][k] = T[i][j][k] + ...
         }
    }
}
  1. Obtain the final float Tn 3D array from device back to host

I didn’t think finding a similar example to follow would be tough, but apparently I can’t seem to find anything I can really follow along with. If anyone knows of any good tutorials (section 3.2.2 didn’t help at all to me from Nvidia’s website) on how to pass, calculate, and obtain 3D arrays using CUDA, please let me know. Thanks.

Well, for a first try, you can use the following: A 3D array with the size vector (Nx, Ny, Nz) is not much different to a 1D array with a size of NxNyNz. Therefore, to start working with CUDA I would recommend to just use one-dimensional arrays.

This is not optimal in many cases in terms of memory layout and therefore, there are ways to use 2D and 3D arrays in CUDA as well, e.g. cudaMalloc3D, cudaMemcpy3D and so on.