Add OpenACC to a Fortran loop

Hello,

I am new to OpenACC programming. I am trying to start accelerate a loop below, and there is something wrong.

It is within a MPI program, it compiled OK, and after run it, the results are wrong/different to the one without OpenAcc.

Here nCells = 14548, and nVertLevels = 41.

I appreciate your help.

Wei

!$acc data copyin(EdgesOnCell,nEdgesOnCell,defc_a,defc_b,u,v), copyout(kdiff)
!$acc kernels
do iCell = 1, nCells
do k=1, nVertLevels
d_diag = 0.
d_off_diag = 0.
do iEdge = 1, nEdgesOnCell(iCell)
d_diag = d_diag + defc_a(iEdge,iCell)*u(k,EdgesOnCell(iEdge,iCell)) &

• defc_b(iEdge,iCell)*v(k,EdgesOnCell(iEdge,iCell))
    d_off_diag = d_off_diag + defc_b(iEdge,iCell)*u(k,EdgesOnCell(iEdge,iCell)) &
  • defc_a(iEdge,iCell)v(k,EdgesOnCell(iEdge,iCell))
    end do
    ! here is the Smagorinsky formulation,
    ! followed by imposition of an upper bound on the eddy viscosity
    kdiff(k,iCell) = (c_s * config_len_disp)2 * sqrt(d_diag2 + d_off_diag**2)
    !kdiff(k,iCell) = min(kdiff(k,iCell),(0.01
    config_len_disp**2)/dt)
    !kdiff(k,iCell) = min(kdiff(k,iCell),config_len_disp_over_dt)
    if(kdiff(k,iCell) < config_len_disp_over_dt) then
    kdiff(k,iCell) = config_len_disp_over_dt
    end if
    end do
    end do
    !$acc end kernels
    !$acc end data

Hi Wei,

What are the compiler feedback messages (-Minfo=accel)? This might give us some clues as to the issue.

• Mat

Hello Mat,

Here is the compile info with -Minfo=accel.

mpif90 -D_MPI -DUNDERSCORE -DCORE_ATMOSPHERE -DMPAS_NAMELIST_SUFFIX=atmosphere -DMPAS_EXE_NAME=atmosphere_model -DMPAS_GIT_VERSION=unknown -DDO_PHYSICS -acc -Minfo=accel -Mprof=time -r8 -O3 -byteswap
io -Mfree -c mpas_atm_time_integration.F -I/opt/pgi/PIO/include -I/opt/pgi/include -I/opt/pgi/linux86-64/2015/netcdf/include -I/opt/pgi/PIO/include -I/opt/pgi/include -I/opt/pgi/linux86-64/2015/netcd
f/include -I…/…/framework -I…/…/operators -I…/physics -I…/physics/physics_wrf -I…/…/external/esmf_time_f90