Bizarre floating point division problem

Hello all. I’ve just spent several days trying to solve a problem in my code. I finally resolved it quite by accident and I don’t understand why, but I suspect it has something to do with the vagaries of floating point division. I’m not an expert at such matters, but perhaps someone here can explain it to me.

My code contains a device function calc_f_tilde_d that is called by a kernel on every timestep. It looks like this:

__device__ void calc_f_tilde_d(

int dir

, int thread

, int block_size

, double* f_temp

, double usq)

{

f_temp[thread + dir*block_size] *= (1. - 1. / tau_c);

double vdotu = vx_c[dir]*f_temp[thread + (numdirs_c+1)*block_size]

+ vy_c[dir]*f_temp[thread + (numdirs_c+2)*block_size];

f_temp[thread + dir*block_size] += wt_c[dir]

* f_temp[ thread + numdirs_c*block_size]

* ( 1. + 3.*vdotu

+ 4.5*vdotu*vdotu

- 1.5*usq

) / tau_c;

}

If I run the code for certain values of tau_c (a constant memory object) then the result looks like a numerical instability (the output is a density field, which blows up after a time), except it has unphysical dependence on the domain configuration (for example, a reflection of the domain results in the disappearance of the `instability’). I knew that the problem had to be in this function because it went away if the function was removed.

Then, by accident, I discovered that the following code works perfectly every time:

__device__ void calc_f_tilde_d(

int dir

, int thread

, int block_size

, double* f_temp

, double usq)

{

double invtau = 1. / tau_c;

f_temp[thread + dir*block_size] *= (1. - invtau);

double vdotu = vx_c[dir]*f_temp[thread + (numdirs_c+1)*block_size]

+ vy_c[dir]*f_temp[thread + (numdirs_c+2)*block_size];

f_temp[thread + dir*block_size] += wt_c[dir]

* f_temp[ thread + numdirs_c*block_size]

* ( 1. + 3.*vdotu

+ 4.5*vdotu*vdotu

- 1.5*usq

) * invtau;

}