C++ and CUDA using CUDA with C++

Hi ,
I am new to CUDA. I tried to compile my C++ with .cu extension, as I had defined a function in the file to run on the tesla machine.But the classes and their objects are not recognized by the complier.
So,do I have to change the extension of my file from .cu to .cpp and then compile the file.Or there is some other way around the problem.

What do you mean “the classes and their objects are not recognized by the compiler” ?
Does your C++ compiler try to compile a .cu file that has CUDA extensions in it? Or does your development suite not recognize the .cu extension? Or do you get linker errors of the type external symbol not defined?

I am working on linux.I made the Makefile.After typing make to run the code( file with .cu extension).I get errors like

“proj3.cu”, line 271: error: identifier “p4” is undefined

xsr =mod ((p3.x_axis-p4.x_axis)/Nx);

^

Here my class is points and my objects are p3,p4

If you’re using C++ features from inside CUDA kernels, stop, you can’t do that (except for some simple templates). If you’re using C++ in host code, that’s fine; just add --host-compilation=c++ to your nvcc command.

I’ve just tried this and have problems:

I’ve included and added a

std::cout<<"c++";

into host code.

Then I’ve added --host-compilation=c++ to the compiler’s command line. I’m getting errors like this:

Compiling...

sample.cu

"D:\mvs8\VC\INCLUDE\xlocinfo", line 77: error: support for exception handling

is disabled

throw runtime_error("bad locale name");

^

What should I do?

My entire command line looks like this:

nvcc.exe -ccbin "D:\mvs8\VC\bin"  -c -D_CONSOLE -Xcompiler "/EHsc /W3 /nologo /Wp64 /O2 /Zi   /MT " -I"D:\CUDA\include" -I"D:\NVIDIA CUDA SDK\common\inc" -o Release\sample.obj sample.cu

I presume VS2005 appends additional commands to the end of this line.

Hi,

thanks for the reply.Yes,I was using C++ features from inside CUDA kernel and thereby committing a big mistake.