Call for GPU programs other than GPU

Hello Everybody,

I am a graduate student who is writing a paper for optimizing the GPU program performance by dynamically adjusting the block size and loop-unrolling level according to the input. I tried different programs in SDK, but it seems that our method insensitive to the different input.

Do you guys know where I can find some other programs to test our approach? Or do you guys have some program written and will be willing to release for test? I tried to google but I didn’t find very good resources.

Thank you in advance.

Besides, I run the GPU program in linux…

Look on the CUDA zone, there you will find plenty of links to programs, many of which have sourcecode available.

I am concerned that you’re taking concepts from the CPU world and not-quite-correctly applying them to CUDA.

For one thing, I know loop unrolling has very different purposes in the two camps. In addition, ‘block size’ may be the same words used as different phrases. (ie, the “block size” in a matrix-mul algorithm vs the “size of a block” in CUDA.)

Thank you. I found a lot of source code there.

Thanks for pointing this out. Sorry the words may be a little vague. By “block size” I mean the size of block in CUDA. By loop unrolling, I mean duplicate the loop body for several times to reduce the condition check.

Thing is, on a CPU loop unrolling does more than reducing condition checks. It lets superscalar architectures better reorder instructions to hide their latency and also suffer fewer mispredictions. (Which doesn’t apply to a GPU.) On a GPU, loop unrolling has a very different, and even more critical role. It allows, in certain cases, for arrays to be placed into registers, which gives the fastest performance. For this to work the loop has to be unrolled completely. Any different amount ruins the optimization.