Collision Detection task partitioning strategy

Hello,

I am very new to CUDA so maybe you can give me some advice on how to start this problem.

My goal is to check every triangle on two 3D meshes for intersection. I will have a global array for each mesh. then each thread will process a collision between triangles based on the thread index.
so if I have two meshes each with say 1000 triangles then it would be 1 million calculations per frame without optimization. but the polycount of the meshes would take a whole range of values. so what would be the best way to partition this into threads and blocks?

so I understand that you can have only 512 threads per block so my guess would be something like:

dim3  grid( sizeMesh1/512 , sizeMesh2/512 , 1);
    dim3  threads( 512, 512, 1);
    Collide<<< grid, threads, mem_size >>>(m1,m2,t1,t2);

does it look like I am on the right track?
could anyone give me pointers how best to partition the problem?

Thanks in advance!

You don’t have 512 threads per block there, you have (2^9)^2 = 2^18 = 262,144 threads per block. It won’t launch.

But yeah in general that’s one idea on how to do it.

Ah… but here’s where algorithmic thinking will give you huge advantages. The brute force method of checking every triangle against every triangle will work (and can fit quite nicely into CUDA) but it’s likely a poor algorithm overall. Hierarchical methods will likely work much better, allowing you to work with groups of triangles and excluding huge swathes of interactions in a single compute.
This can be parallelized as well.

A reasonable GPU friendly work partitioning would choose the larger of the two objects, take the top 2000 nodes or so of its tree, and make each one of those a block of work, and the block would be responsible for intersecting that node (and its child nodes and leaves) versus the other object’s (entire) tree.