Concurrent kernels execution using streams in multiple CPU threads

Hi,

I’m new to concurrent kernel execution technique(supported by FERMI GPU). I need to use this technique in my project so as to get some performance gain. CUDA programming guide mentions that 16 kernels belonging to the same context can run concurrently.

Can anyone please clarify my questions regarding concurrent kernel execution?

1. I need to run the same kernel on different batches of input data. So, I’m planning to launch kernels concurrently, each one working on a batch of input data. I understand number of kernels that can concurrently depends on how much resources are being used by each of the kernels. I want to know how kernels run concurrently on the same GPU? How does the hardware handle different kernels with different thread configurations running at the same time on a GPU? Does nyone know how it works internally? Does 16 kernels run concurrently(overlap in true sense) on a GPU hardware? Practically, how many kernels can execute in parallel?

2. Second question, My project has multiple host threads. I’m planning to associate each stream ID with each CPU thread and each stream will run the kernel with a small batch of input. The other stream associated with the other thread runs on the second batch of the same input and likewise the kernels in other streams run its respective batches of the input. All the host threads n their respective streams are using the same context and same GPU. Is it possible to associate each host thread with stream Id and run it’s respective kernel?

It is very important for me to understand this before I use this technique for my project.

It’ll be really helpful if someone can clarify my questions.

Thanks

1. At any given time, only one warp of threads are executed concurrently per SM/SMX

2. Yes