Creating texture objects globally and update the memory allocated each time when there is a change in the data

I am new to cuda code (using c programming) and I am trying to migrate the texture references to texture objects in one of our legacy code base.
I would need to access these texture objects in multiple kernels where there is too many indirection (kernel function calls) where I need to pass these objects as arguments unnecessarily, which would result in rewriting of lot of code. I have referred CUDA Programming: TEXTURE OBJECT IN CUDA | Bindless Texture in CUDA, for creating texture objects.
is there a way to declare these texture objects as global variables in the device code and update the data to the device memory from host by allocating new device memory and setting this memory to texture object(similar to texture reference where we can allocate new memory using cuMemAlloc and use cuTexRefSetAddress to update this, to the existing texture reference), is there a way to do something similar?

The general methodology to provide global scope device accessible variables is to use the __device__ decorator in front of a variable declaration (at global scope, i.e. module scope, not function scope).

Of course this sort of variable requires special handling. Accessing it from host code requires use of APIs like cudaMemcpyFromSymbol and cudaMemcpyToSymbol.

Did you try anything like that, perhaps with a texture object variable declared at __device__ global scope?

Something like like this which is a lightly modified version of what you see here, with the changes I indicated above:

# cat t175.cu
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdint.h>

typedef uint8_t mt;  // use an integer type
__device__ cudaTextureObject_t tex;
__global__ void kernel()
{
    int x = threadIdx.x;
    int y = threadIdx.y;
    mt val = tex2D<mt>(tex, x, y);
    printf("%d, ", val);
}

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
    cudaDeviceProp prop;
    cudaGetDeviceProperties(&prop, 0);