CUDA code randomly works, and returns wrong results

Hi. Is it possible that I am having problems due to fault hardware (specifically motherboard)?

I checked and my CUDA toolkit is correctly installed (SDK version, drives etc). I just bought a new video board this week, with compute capability 3.5 (Kepler), but my program still works randomly and when it works, it returns wrong results. I have a OpenMP version of the code (which works correctly), and checked many times the “translation”, there is nothing wrong apparently, I really cannot find kernel errors. Sample CUDA code of the sum of two arrays, both with size 105000000, works correctly though. I would appreciate any enlightenment.

I would suspect your code first, before focusing on HW or system/infrastructure. That’s just a general statement; obviously I have no knowledge of your code. But the CUDA sum of two arrays working correctly is a reasonable test of the system.

Good practices here are to make sure your code uses proper CUDA error checking (google that phrase, take the first hit, apply it to your code) and also run your code with cuda-memcheck or compute-sanitizer. If any errors are reported by any of that, start your debug focus there.

Thank you for the fast reply.

Actually, any CUDA call I make, the program just closes randomly. So, if I try to call cudamemcheck, it may or may not work, but I am assured that it is not a memory problem (int the sense of total storage in device), as I need much less than 1GB in memory (about 0.007 GB).

There are any number of possibilities such as improper use of managed memory, stack corruption in your program and many others, that we are unlikely to be able to zero in on with a sequence of questions.