CUDA for quaternions (hyper-complex numbers) operations

Hello,

I’m quite new to GPGPU and CUDA, and i need to find a way to do some quaternions operations on GPU. (Such as the product of a vector of quaternions with an other vector of quaternions). To do so i need to use the hamilton product ( equivalent for the product of two quaternions) :
http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Quaternion.html

In the end my goal is to perform a kind of feed forward phase doing W * Q where W is a vector of N quaternions and Q an other vector of M quaternions.

I’m firstly looking for a library, but if i need to code my own, i will need some help understanding how i can perform this hamilton product in parallel computing … An interresting thing is that a quaternion can be represented as a matrix of 4*4 real numbers, and the product of two quaternions represented in this way is equivalent to the hamilton product. (But how to represent this in a GPU “way”)

Thanks a lot !

Instead of trying to map operations for a single quaternion to multiple threads, consider running a sequential algorithm working with quaternions for many quaternions in parallel - each thread processing one quaternion only.

Essentially it means taking a CPU implementation of a quaternion class and simply using it on the GPU with almost no modifications.

I’ve only used quaternions for implementing spatial rotations in CUDA, so I probably can’t help you much with your particular problem.

Here’s my quaternion helper class. Probably not the prettiest implementation, but it does the job. Note the use of a float4 vector to hold the 1,i,j,k components of the rotation Quanternion. These map to the x,y,z and w components of the float4 vector. Not sure why I went for a typedef approach for declaring struct _Quaternion as Quaternion.

It’s all 32bit float precision and the entire object can stay in registers when you declare a quaternion as a local variable within the CUDA kernel.

// Quaternion helper class describing rotations