CUDA header input file Declaring device variables in a separate .h or .cuh file

I will begin this post as I always do: I am a noob so I may describe things in a somewhat strange way… you have been warned :-)

A little bit of background: I am working in a research lab that is trying to model plant growth patterns using simple dynamical equations for plant biomass and nutrient and water concentration. When I came in they had all of their input variables scattered throughout about 500+ lines of code, some declared in multiple places (once for extern “C” and once for device functions). Being an engineer I couldn’t stand this, it seemed inefficient and too easy to forget to update all instances of a variable, so I pushed to have all the input variables put into a single header file that would be used by the host and device functions. The ultimate goal is to hve a header file initialize all of the variables, then have a .txt file that has their values so the model can be changed without remaking the source each time.

So I went through and moved ALL variables to a separate header file. This appeared to work, there were no complaints about variables not being initialized properly or whatnot. However, I noticed that the behavior of the code was not what we expected at all. It turned out that though the variables were being declared properly and given values, they were passing in null values to the functions. So I decided to take a step back and work on just one variable and make sure I fully understood what was happening before tackling all variables.

We have a variable called “ppt” which represents precipitation. It is used in one device function and one extern “C” function. I thought that declaring it in a header file as

__constant__ float ppt = 123.456;