Cuda with openMP

Hi there,

I’m fairly new to Cuda. I’ve read Kirk and Hwu’s book and played around a little but I’ve not done anything substantial with it.

I was wondering about the possibility of launching multiple kernal functions concurrently.

For example I have an algorithm that requires a three separate stages of calculation, lets call them pre-processing, fft and post-processing.

The FFT can’t start until the pre-processing has completed and the post-processing can’t start until the FFT is finished but if I need to run the algorithm on multiple frames of data then the operations could be pipelined so that while frame 2 is being transformed by the FFT frame 1 is in post processing and frame 3 is in pre-processing.

As I understand it if I have three kernal functions, one for each stage Cuda on it’s own does not allow me to execute all three concurrently. Is that correct?

Assuming that the GPU has enough resources to carry out all three at once I could launch each stage from a separate thread but I’m not sure how a single GPU would handle that.

Is this an approach that would work? Has it been done before?

*Edit * It seems that what I’m trying to do is not possible. I would still be interested in any comments on this sort of problem.

Any comments are much appreciated.

What you want to do is possible on compute 2.0 GPUs. Just execute each of your independant pipelines in different streams and the driver/GPU will overlap them.

Thanks Mr Anderson,

I’m sorry I don’t know what you mean by compute 2.0. Did a quick search but didn’t find anything.

The GPUs I have access to currently are all Quadros.

Different NVIDIA GPUs have different CUDA features. These feature sets are given numbers, called “compute capabilities.” They are defined in one of the Appendices in the CUDA Programming Guide. Briefly:

compute capability 1.0: Original CUDA architecture of the 8800 GTX.

compute capability 1.1: Added atomic operations in global memory