Deepstream pipeline low frame rate when rtsp stream is used

• Hardware Platform (Jetson / GPU) Jetson Nano
• DeepStream Version 6.0
• JetPack Version (valid for Jetson only) 4.6
• TensorRT Version 8.0.1.6

I’m using DeepStream with Python bindings. I have constructed a simple pileline that consists of the following elements:

uridecodebin → nvstreammux → nvinfer → nvtracker → nvvideoconvert → fakesink

The pipeline works at about 32fps when a file is used as a source. However when I try to use an rtsp camera frame rate is about 20 for the first 1000 frames and then drops to 3.

nvstreammux is created using the following properties:

streammux.set_property('width', 1920)
        streammux.set_property('height', 1080)
        streammux.set_property('batch-size', 1)
        streammux.set_property('batched-push-timeout', 4000000)

if self.video_uri.find("rtsp://") == 0 :
            streammux.set_property('live-source', 1)   

Is this expected behaviour? I’m a beginner with DeepStream pipeline and trying to use it for production as nothing else seems to work a device as small as a Nano.

No.

But we need more information to analysis what happened to the pipeline. Have you enabled “GST_DEBUG=3” log?

I tried

export GST_DEBUG=3

and then executed my app again. How can I inspect the logs now?

This is a screenshot from jtop output while my app is running. GPU clocks are at 76MHz. Is this normal?

Please note that after a few minutes GPU utilization drops to 0% and the app hangs.

There should be log print in your terminal.

These are the messages I receive after setting GST_DEBUG=3:

FIXME default gstutils.c:3981:gst_pad_create_stream_id_internal:fakesrc0:src Creating random stream-id, consider implementing a deterministic way of creating a stream-id
Opening in BLOCKING MODE
0:00:04.928043540 17264 0x7ef40030f0
WARN v4l2 gstv4l2object.c:4476:gst_v4l2_object_probe_caps:nvv4l2decoder0:src Failed to probe pixel aspect ratio with VIDIOC_CROPCAP: Unknown error -1