Deviceemu works but problem on gpu

Dear all,

I am a belgian MSc student in computer science. My final MSc thesis is about machine learning algorithms and their implementation on GPGPU using CUDA.

I 'm working on a global function for the implementation of “decision trees” on the GPU.

I have a problem with the following code :

__device__ float getEntropyOnDevice(unsigned int* matrix, unsigned int numberOfY)

{

float entropy = 0, Na, N = *(matrix+numberOfY);

for(int i=0; i<numberOfY-1; i++)

{

Na      	= *(matrix+i);

if(Na != 0) entropy   -=  (Na/N * log2f(Na/N));

}

return entropy;

}

__global__ void scoreOnDevice( DeviceRecord* attToCompute, uint numberOfY, uint* total_matrix_left, uint* total_matrix_right, float entropy_estimate, uint nbScoreToCompute, Test* d_scores)

{

uint id = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

float Na,Nb,N,entropy_split;

entropy_split = Na = Nb = N = 1;

if(id < nbScoreToCompute)

{

Na  = d_scores[id].total_left = *(total_matrix_left + (id*(numberOfY + 1)) + numberOfY);

Nb	= d_scores[id].total_right = *(total_matrix_right + (id*(numberOfY + 1)) + numberOfY);

N  = Na + Nb;

entropy_split = -(Na/N * log2f(Na/N)) - (Nb/N * log2f(Nb/N));

float entropy_left  = getEntropyOnDevice(total_matrix_left + id * (numberOfY + 1), numberOfY);

float entropy_right = getEntropyOnDevice(total_matrix_right + id * (numberOfY + 1), numberOfY);

if(entropy_estimate == 0 || entropy_split == 0)d_scores[id].score = 0;

else

{

float information_gain = entropy_estimate - ((Na/N) * entropy_left) - ((Nb/N) * entropy_right);

//printf("\n %f ",2 * information_gain / (entropy_split + entropy_estimate)); // -deviceemu

// PROBLEM HERE, if I let "information_gain", the line is not executed... :

// d_scores[id].score = 2 / (entropy_split + entropy_estimate); // ----> WORKS but don't do what I want

d_scores[id].score = 2 * information_gain / (entropy_split + entropy_estimate); // WORKS ONLY on -deviceemu

}

d_scores[id].test = attToCompute[id].test;