Does the grid_sync in cooperative groups have the same functionality as the device-wide synchronization?

Hi,
I’m new to using the cooperative groups mechanism. I am wondering if the grid_sync in cooperative groups has the same functionality as the device-wide synchronization?

I mean if I have two dependent kernel launches, like kernel 1 and kernel 2.
Modern GPUs have already supported the device-wide synchronization without completing the kernel? We can fuse two kernels into single kernel by using grid_sync() or not? If yes, could you please give a a piece of sample code? Thank you very much.

the .sync() method is a device-wide sync in cooperative groups if it is (properly) applied to a grid group.

I wasn’t aware of any such thing in CUDA until cooperative groups were introduced in the CUDA 9 timeframe, I believe. There isn’t any other explicit device-wide sync (barring the kernel launch boundary) in CUDA, that I am aware of, other than that provided by cooperative groups.

There are numerous questions and examples of proper usage of cooperative groups grid sync on various public forums as well as in CUDA sample codes.

Here is one such example on a public forum. You could imagine everything up to the grid.sync() line started out as kernel 1, and everything after that was kernel 2.

Here is a CUDA sample code that handles multiple reduction phases with a grid sync.

I see. How can we determine the size of each cooperative_group? Let’s say if I want to work on an array of an arbitrary size N and I want to have each thread to work on one element of it.

How can I decide each cooperative group size. Suppose I need to partitioning the array into many segments and want each cooperative group to work on each segment and performs a segmented scan? Here size of each segment are different and will known when entering kernel in the runtime. Does CUDA support groups of different size determined in runtime?