ERROR: Nvidia driver is not loaded - Ubuntu 22.04

Hi,
Nvidia drivers seem not to load even though the card is recognized by the OS and recommended driver nvidia 525 is installed.

$ nvidia-smi
NVIDIA-SMI has failed because it couldn’t communicate with the NVIDIA driver. Make sure that the latest NVIDIA driver is installed and running

$ dkms status
nvidia/525.89.02, 5.19.0-38-generic, x86_64: installed (WARNING! Diff between built and installed module!) (WARNING! Diff between built and installed module!) (WARNING! Diff between built and installed module!) (WARNING! Diff between built and installed module!) (WARNING! Diff between built and installed module!)

// i dont knwo how to resolve this warning as i am new to linux

$ uname -r
5.19.0-38-generic

$ nvidia-settings

ERROR: NVIDIA driver is not loaded

(nvidia-settings:48815): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: 14:21:54.350: g_object_unref: assertion ‘G_IS_OBJECT (object)’ failed

** (nvidia-settings:48815): CRITICAL **: 14:21:54.354: ctk_powermode_new: assertion ‘(ctrl_target != NULL) && (ctrl_target->h != NULL)’ failed

ERROR: nvidia-settings could not find the registry key file or the X server is not accessible. This file should have been installed along with this driver at
/usr/share/nvidia/nvidia-application-profiles-key-documentation. The application profiles will continue to work, but values cannot be prepopulated or validated, and will not be listed in the help
text. Please see the README for possible values and descriptions.

** Message: 14:21:54.413: PRIME: Usage: /usr/bin/prime-select nvidia|intel|on-demand|query
** Message: 14:21:54.413: PRIME: is “on-demand” mode supported? yes

I have already tried the following methods:

1. disabling security boot
  2. reinstalling driver 525 and reboot.

Any support would be highly appreciated.

PFA the bug report
nvidia-bug-report.log (8.8 MB)

1 Like