FEM unstructured solver implementation problem

Hi there,

I am new in the CUDA/GPU coding and trying to implement a FEM solver. I have a pretty extensive experience implementing solvers on shared memory parallel supercomputers. My solvers are using all kind of renumbering/coloring schemes (on Supercomputers) to avoid scattering interference and reduce cache misses as much as possible.

1. global memory. I understand that a scattering to an array allocated with cudaMemAlloc is a slow process even is the access is sequential (coalesced)… but I still need to do it in some cases. What is the best option to reduce the scattering to global memory? if there is any.

2. min(array): I am computing timestep at each point of my mesh using a kernel. This is done on an array located in global memory. I need to get back to the host the min( timestep(i)). How do I do this without getting the array out the global memory? I have seen the atomic functions in 0.9 but they only work on integers. In my case those are floats.

3. Indirect addressing f[list[*]]: my array “list” is an array of integer and f is an array of floating points. list is also an array not evolving in time. if list is allocated using cudaMemAlloc(), it is therefore located in global memory. list is accessed sequentially. By quickly reading through the doc, it looks like the global mem access is not cached. This is not the case for the texture mem. If this is the case, I would greatly benefit in implemented list inside a texture. Am I right?

4. is there ways to accelerate functions such as

a = v , a = b+c , a = b*c

with the array a,b,c being in global memory. Note that the access in those arrays is sequential.

That’s it for now. I hope that some of you will spend the time to read this and provide me with some answers.

Thanks

Eric

Hi Eric,