Help on fixing some poor performances (rookie)

Hi, this is my first post, being written a couple of hours after i started playing with CUDA, so my question will no doubt be trivial, sorry in advance!

I was quite amazed at the particule simulator’s performance and having written my own in plain old C, i started wondering if i could translate it to use CUDA.

To get myself familiar with the tools, i started writing a simple program that would take 2 vectors and do some math between them.

I write both vector once to device memory then loop the kernel 10000 times and compare this execution on both gpu and cpu to find out that the execution time is pretty much the same.

Here is the code:

#define THREAD_CNT 256

#define NUM_PARTICULES 104200

const int BLOCK_CNT = ceil((float)NUM_PARTICULES/(float)THREAD_CNT);

float4 partPos[NUM_PARTICULES];

float4 partForces[NUM_PARTICULES];

#define DT 0.001
__global__ void integrate( float4* g_data, float4* g_force,float dt )

{

int index = __mul24(blockIdx.x,blockDim.x) + threadIdx.x;

g_data[index].z+=g_force[index].z;

}
int main(int argc, char** argv)

{

initParticules();

cudaInit();

unsigned int timer0;

CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutCreateTimer( &timer0));

CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutStartTimer( timer0));

for(int i=0;i<10000;i++)

{

update();

//onCpu();

render();

}

CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutStopTimer( timer0));

printf("gpu time: %f\n", cutGetTimerValue(timer0));

unsigned int timer1;

CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutCreateTimer( &timer1));

CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutStartTimer( timer1));

for(int i=0;i<10000;i++)

{

//update();

onCpu();

render();

}

CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutStopTimer( timer1));

printf("cpu time: %f\n", cutGetTimerValue(timer1));

return 1;

}
void onCpu()

{

for(int i=0;i<NUM_PARTICULES;i++)

{

partPos[i].z+=partForces[i].z;

}

}
void cudaInit()

{

CUT_DEVICE_INIT();

int mem_size = NUM_PARTICULES*sizeof(float4);

CUDA_SAFE_CALL(cudaMalloc((void**) &gpuPos, mem_size));

CUDA_SAFE_CALL(cudaMalloc((void**) &gpuForce, mem_size));