Help with memory management

Hi. I am a little new to CUDA. I am writing a program for a problem in number theory. My problem is that the results I get can be many (potentially 6*10^15 longs). What I need to do is to be able to store results in a “buffer” on the device and periodically have the host read from the buffer (while the kernel is still executing). I know this is possible with mapped memory but my hardware does not support that. I was suggested to use texture memory for this purpose along with events. So my questions are:

1. Is it possible to use events as a way to send an “interrupt” to the host (to have it trigger a copy from the “buffer”)?
  2. How would texture memory be useful in this context?
    As a side note, my kernel will be running for hours (maybe days) and the reason I need this is to record intermediate results.

Unfortunately no. For that sort of arrangement, the only practical solution is to have the host run the outer “coordinating” loop with a re-entrant kernel and have the host periodically sample the state of the solution to capture intermediate values or check for convergence

I don’t think it will be helpful at all (at least in the context of host-device data exchange). Texture memory is read-only within the context of a single kernel launch, so if you kernel is running for the lifetime of your application, there is no coherence, and nothing that the host can do to sample its context during execution.

So you are suggesting something as follows:

If i have 100*1000 combinations

[codebox]

Host:

for(i=0;i<100;i++)

{

kernel_do_1000_combinations();

sync();

get_result_from_device();

display_result();

}[/codebox]

In that case I guess texture memory might help me get the results quicker (since I will be doing a lot of copying)?

Hi

I have a quite silly question, its connected to memory management issues so i thought i post it here.