How more exactly a thread is executed on GPU

Hey boys,

I have some problems in understanding how cuda works with threads.
Here is a picture about how i see things.

[url]http://i63.tinypic.com/i1grnp.png[/url]

Can somebody explain to me how exactly works?
I don’t know if i am right but here is how i see things…
Each grid is executed by a SM, after that warp scheduler takes the grid and divide this in warps with 32 threads and each warp is executed a time.
I don’t know what does SP more exactly…each SP execute a single thread from a warp?
Is possible to execute more warps a time?

Soory for my english and bad explanation. I am new with CUDA and i try to learn as much i can.
It will be just great if can someone what is happening when a grid is executed by a SM from the start to the end.
Thank you very much for your help.

A better diagram is in the CUDA programming guide.

Think of unlayering each levels of abstraction… they’re easier to understand seperately.

You launch a kernel with a grid of blocks of work. The GPU executes your code on all the blocks and returns.

How does the GPU execute the blocks of the grid? It gives one or more blocks to each SM and tells it to work. When the SM finishes a block, the GPU gives it another to work on. When all blocks are done, the GPU returns.