How to create CUDA library using Visual Studio

Hello-

I am new to programming with CUDA would like to write my own performance library using CUDA. I have seen several hello world examples, but all of the seem to create an executable. What I am looking for is how to go about creating a library that I can link with. I know libraries like NPP do this, so I’m sure there is a way, but I can not find any examples of how to build such projects.

I am developing on Windows and am using Visual Studio 2017.

Thanks in advance!

Jim

This describes pretty much the whole process and it works for Windows, Linux and Mac (I use all 3):
[url]https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1014106/separate-compilation-of-cuda-code-into-library-for-use-with-existing-code-base/[/url]

And this:
[url]Creating a static CUDA library to be linked with a C++ program - Stack Overflow

Thanks for the quick response, I looked over each of the links carefully and I think I have the gist of how to build the libraries. The examples seemed to be command line orientated, which is fine, it definitely gives be a better understanding of the entire compilation and link process. However, I was hoping that there might be a more Visual Studio IDE based approach. I would have thought that someone out there has already developed a CUBA library project template, but I could not find one anywhere. Perhaps I’ll have to man up and write one myself.

Thanks for the help, it definitely got me pointed in the right direction.

Jim

Building a library with CUDA code in VS is the same as any ordinary library. Just change the target of the project from EXE to DLL, that’s why there is no template for it as the only difference is --shared being passed to nvcc.

Surely people here do it on a daily basis, and the only extra process is that a program can’t call a kernel function directly from a shared library. It needs a wrapper using extern ‘C’ linkage, as demonstrated in these threads.