How to speed up AtomicAdd kernel using shared memory

Hi. I am seeking help to understand why my code using shared memory and atomic operations is not working.

I’m relatively new to CUDA programming. I’ve studied the various explanations and examples around creating custom kernels and using atomic operations (here, here, here and various other explanatory sites / links I could find on SO and this forum).

Conceptually my problem is as follows:

• I have a matrix X of size [M, N], a vector Y of size [N], where N >> M, and a matrix Z of size [M, 256].

• X is an unsigned integer8 array, Y is a float32 vector, Z is a float32 array.

• For each k < X[i, j]: Z[i, k] += Y[j]

Hence, the following (stylized) CUDA kernel naively implements this procedure using AtomicAdd:

const int i = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x; 
const int j = blockIdx.y * blockDim.y + threadIdx.y;

unsigned char Xc = X[i, j];
float yj = Y[j];
for (unsigned char k = 0; k < Xc; k++){
	atomicAdd(&Z[i, k], yj);
}

I am trying to improve on this working solution using shared memory but can’t get it to work. Conceptually, I think the solution should look as follows:

• Assign values to shared memory arrays;
  • Synchronize threads;
  • Compute the loop on the shared arrays;
  • Synchronize threads;
  • Global AtomicAdd over the results in the shared memory

Thus, a starting implementation would look like this (with a threadblock size of (16, 64)):

// Dimensions
const int ti = threadIdx.x;
const int tj = threadIdx.y;

// Define shared arrays
__shared__ unsigned char Xs[16][64];
__shared__ float Ys[64];
__shared__ float Zs[16][256];

// Fill shared arrays
Xs[ti, tj] = X[i, j];
Ys[tj] = Y[j];
// Synchronize
__syncthreads();
// Fill shared array
for (unsigned char k = 0; k < Xs[ti, tj]; k++){
    atomicAdd(&Zs[ti, k], Ys[tj]);
}
// Synchronize
__syncthreads();
// Atomic add over global memory
?