illegal memory access - any help appreciated

Hello,

I am a student who just started learning to use gpu parallel programming for a project on my own. Currently using cuda 8.0. I have encountered an illegal memory access error when running my program for image processing. No problem with compilation.

I am hoping for some advice on cudaMalloc, and if i did it correctly.
In this code, i am attempting to get a pointer to the data stored in the type Eigen ArrayXXf color, then passed over to another function to do mathematical manipulation on gpu in parallel and finally store it back to color ArrayXXf.

I believe the issues lies with my allocation of pointer from host to device and if the pointer at the device could link back. But i cant figure out where i went wrong.
The problem should lie on line 50 whenever I attempt to write to dev_color. Reading from dev_color however does not result in any illegal memory error and i am able to obtain 0.5 as initialised

the two functions, cudaSafeCall and cudaCheckError, are obtained from https://gist.github.com/ashwin/2652488 as a method to check if the kernel function runs properly.

inline void __cudaSafeCall( cudaError err, const char *file, const int line )
{
#ifdef CUDA_ERROR_CHECK
    if ( cudaSuccess != err )
    {
        fprintf( stderr, "cudaSafeCall() failed at %s:%i : %s\n",
                 file, line, cudaGetErrorString( err ) );
        exit( -1 );
    }
#endif

return;
}

inline void __cudaCheckError( const char *file, const int line )
{
#ifdef CUDA_ERROR_CHECK
    cudaError err = cudaGetLastError();
    if ( cudaSuccess != err )
    {
        fprintf( stderr, "cudaCheckError() failed at %s:%i : %s\n",
        exit( -1 );
    }

err = cudaDeviceSynchronize();

if( cudaSuccess != err )
    {
        fprintf( stderr, "cudaCheckError() with sync failed at %s:%i : %s\n",
        exit( -1 );
    }
#endif

return;
}

__global__ void kernel(int dev_size, int width, int height, float* dev_color)
{