Incompatible size of common block - pgf77

I am compiling a Fortran 77 code in Linux that uses the Cray pointer extension. The compilation does not complete properly, giving me the following error message:

PGFTN-S-0168-Incompatible size of common block ptrcom (default.F)

As I understand from another thread, Cray pointers in 32-bit are INTEGER4 and in 64-bit, they are INTEGER8. I am trying to compile on a 64-bit machine, so I get the impression this code (not written by me) was written for a 32-bit machine. From another thread, it seems I can use the -i8 option to set the default to INTEGER*8 or compile the program in 32 bits. I don’t believe it’s possible to do the latter without switching to the 32-bit PGI Workstation (which I had trouble getting to work on my machine), and the former seems to be a “quick fix” that can cause problems later.

I’m quite new to Fortran, C, and Linux, so while I kind of understand what’s happening on a conceptual level, the code is essential convulted gibberish to me. So if I say something blatantly obvious or incorrect, I apologize.

The file ‘default.F’ has a line stating to include ‘ptrcom.h’, which is a header file that consists entirely of lines like the following:

Code removed

How do I translate “Incompatible size of common block” into an error in the source code that I can fix? Please be patient with my responses and try to use layman’s terms where possible.

Note: I have tried using -i8, and this specific part of the compilation completes, but it creates additional errors later in the same compilation and the final executable doesn’t work.

There are no signs of any Cray pointers in the lines of code that you showed, so there is not much that can be said about their role.

Secondly, for a message to be issued about incompatible common block sizes, the compiler would have to have seen at least two instances of the same block (named or blank common blocks). You showed only a portion of the declaration of ONE common block.