Jetson Nano 2GB Killed (Out Of Memory) During Re-Training

Hey guys!
I’m not sure if this is the right forum, but I just wanted to start off by saying I’m relatively new to the Linux community, and I’ve only had my Nano 2GB for 1 day. I already got the Hello AI world object detection going, updated the entire system (even overclocked it to 1.9ghz), and switched to LXDE. During the retraining, I even disable the entire GUI and just use puTTY

I’m trying to do the tutorial, where they retrain the neural network to detect fruits (jetson-inference/pytorch-ssd.md at master · dusty-nv/jetson-inference · GitHub)

Upon running: " python3 train_ssd.py --data=data/fruit --model-dir=models/fruit --batch-size=1 --workers=0 --epochs=2 " , the system freezes, tries to run it, and 99% of the time, It freezes, and 20 or 30 minutes later or so, I get “Killed” in the log, which is caused by Out Of Memory.

Yes, i’m using a SWAP File (20GB Large) on the fastest consumer microSD available (Sandisk Pro Plus C10, V30, A2)

Any ideas for running the command, or doing further optimization so I can actually do some training?

This was originally intented for Nano 4GB or Xavier NX (8GB), so you might be out of luck with a Nano 2GB.

To my knowledge Jetson GPU can not access virtual/swap memory.

The person in the tutorials is also using a 2GB Nano

And from my knowledge, the model training is CPU intensive, not GPU (I’m at 0% gpu usage during this)

EDIT: Here’s a screenshot from a fresh run. you can see I’m overclocked, low temps because of fan, but the memory usage it’s maxed out, and relying on swap space.

Then maybe ask this person which settings were used for the tutorial?

You are still running the Nano out of spec, disable the overclocking, reduce the swapspace to a reasonable size (1x or 2x the physical memory)…

I would, if the comments weren’t disabled on the video.

Out of curiosity, is there any downsides to having the swap memory as large as it is?