Latency when running a cuda code

Hello

I am a cuda beginner and I am facing issue optimizing a algo. The original algo takes 7,812e-6 s. I am trying to parallelize this algo ( the function is used 1.e9 times at least ).
My first question will be : is it relevant to parallelize such algorithm ?

I have coded and run a parallelized version of this program but I haven’t been able to have a better execution time than 6.e-5s. I try to remove all my code (Basically I have 1 almost empty kernel and 1 cuda copy) and I haven’t been a have a better execution under 5.e-5 s. Is there some latency due to coda runtime environnement or is it possible to have execution under 10e-6 s ?

Thank you for your expertise.
Regards

High speed trader?

depending on your hardware you may have the possibility to share some system memory between host CPU and GPU.

If this is the case, consider running the kernel in a spinloop (be sure to disable the GPU watchdog timer), and starting the computation only when the CPU has copied the input data into the segment of mapped memory (use proper locking techniques to ensure the data is available in full).

This avoids the kernel launch overhead entirely. Finalization of the computation has to be signalled by the GPU by setting some completion flag.

Only expect latency speed-ups over the CPU if your algorithm is extremely parallelizable (let’s say a monte carlo simulation where each thread will compute one sample). Also for a fair comparison, consider doing an AVX2-enabled version of the same code, running on all CPU cores simultaneously. I bet it will be difficult to see the GPU being much faster in this case.

Can you show your code? 50 microseconds for an empty kernel and a copy sounds a bit on the high side. Are you using a Windows platform with default WDDM driver by any chance? If so, you would want to switch to the TCC driver (note: not supported by consumer GPUs best I know), or a Linux platform.