Launching Kernel Fail

I’m new to CUDA.
I have written the Kernel and I’m launching the same with launch parameter as 16 blocks and 256 threads per block. The kernel is not launched at all.
But if I try the same with 16 blocks and 128 threads per block, it is launching nicely.
So do I have to check the device’s capability for the number of threads supported per block?

When I checked the device info, here is the detail:
Card: GeForce GT 530
MaxThreadsPerBlock : 512
Warp size : 32
MaxThreadsPerMultiProcessor: 1024

And How to know what is the maximum number of threads that can be launched?
Is there any way to find what is the max number of blocks can be used on the device?

With regards to the max number of blocks, reference the max grid dimensions under the compute capability specifications in the programming guide

But I doubt whether your problem relates to the number of blocks you are using

How much shared memory does a block use - make sure that a block can actually be scheduled by a SM, based on the amount of shared memory it uses
You are likely not exceeding the max block dimensions per SM, but you may be exceeding the shared memory limit per SM

Perhaps also pay attention to the error type specified when the kernel launch fails, to aid your problem identification

But I’m not using any more shared memory right. I dont think so the max block dimension should be a problem. I’m using only one dimension that too only with 16 blocks.

If you full-heartedly believe that the error is indeed caused by the block dimension, then simply confirm your hypothesis by referencing your device’s compute capability specifications in die programming guide, paying particular attention to the block dimension specifications

Are you using shared memory at all?
Depending on how you have allocated shared memory, the mere fact that it works when you step down from 256 to 128 threads, may equally indicate that the problem is caused by shared memory exceeding limits