Mixed Programing combining MPI and CUDA

Can anyone help me giving details regarding how to write a program combing both MPI and CUDA API’s?
I am new to this and need a starting point and i am very much interested in this.

It is possible and i have done this. But I think you should first learn CUDA and then MPI and then mix them both.

Hello sir,
I have learnt Both CUDA and as well as MPI.
I have done programming in both individually and now i heard that these both can be mixed up.
I request you to give me some guide lines and some direction to achieve this.
Thanking you for your kind reply .

Then, it is pretty straightforward.

As a first step, just print he CUDA devices listed in various nodes.

So, you run your job as “mpirun” – each node will find CUDA devices and print them.

Thats good enough to start with, isn’t it.

Now, you can write CU files and call kernels in all these nodes…

You need to divide your data-set based on the MPI Rank assigned to each node and so on.

Where you store the data (datasbase, distributed file system or Windows share or NFS share ) is all upto you…

Therez nothing that limits you from integrating MPI and CUDA that I am aware of. Its fairly straightforward.

They can’t be “mixed up”.

In some applications it makes sense to use both. I work with doing simulations on large domains where it is possible to use MPI with domain decomposition to distribute the computational domain over many nodes on a distributed memory cluster, and then use CUDA kernels and/or CUBLAS/CUFFT function calls to parallelize subdomain level computations on a companion GPU dedicated to each node. In embarrassingly parallel problems, or those with low interprocess communication overheads, like explicit time marching schemes, such an approach makes sense. But even then, the CUDA and MPI elements of the code aren’t “mixed up”, they are effectively totally separate.

MPI and CUDA are basically orthogonal parallel computing paradigms.

Dear sir,