need "hello world" example request a simple complete example

Hi. I am brand new to GPU computing, and somewhat new to C for that matter. I copied the example in the Programming Guide, Figure 6-1. Matrix Multiplication, into a C file and called it test2.c, but when I try to compile it with nvcc I get a bunch of errors (below). Can someone please provide a complete, simple example (in C), including the nvcc command that is needed to compile it? Thanks very much! Are any include statements needed in the file?
John

test2.c:4: error: expected ‘=’, ‘,’, ‘;’, ‘asm’ or ‘__attribute__’ before ‘void’
test2.c: In function ‘Mul’:
test2.c:18: error: ‘cudaMemcpyHostToDevice’ undeclared (first use in this function)
test2.c:18: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
test2.c:18: error: for each function it appears in.)
test2.c:29: error: ‘dim3’ undeclared (first use in this function)
test2.c:29: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘dimBlock’
test2.c:30: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘dimGrid’
test2.c:32: error: ‘Muld’ undeclared (first use in this function)
test2.c:32: error: expected expression before ‘<’ token
test2.c:34: error: ‘cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost’ undeclared (first use in this function)
test2.c: At top level:
test2.c:44: error: expected ‘=’, ‘,’, ‘;’, ‘asm’ or ‘__attribute__’ before ‘void’

John,

You would probably save yourself a lot of trouble by simply selecting a program within the SDK which is closest to what you wish to do and altering it to fit your requirements. Messing around with the NVCC compiler, or any compiler for that matter, can be tricky and since you’re already new to C I would say cut out all the external issues that you don’t need to deal with and allow yourself to focus on just writing code and not debugging compiler errors. I took a class on CUDA and that was generally the accepted method. There is a template project within the CUDA SDK that you might wish to look at.

Hope this helps,
Mack

Thanks Mack!