New to CUDA having memory transfer issues

Hi, I’m relatively new to CUDA, but I’ve coded in OpenCL before and I’m trying to learn CUDA.
(GPU Programming looks to be trending towards CUDA and I really only need to know OpenCL for FPGAs now.)

Anyways I have a relatively simple example that is based off of Mark Harris’ example from his “An Even Easier Introduction to CUDA.”

You should be able to copy and run the program.
Anyways, my main question is why I’m only seeing 1GBps on DtoH on average and 191MBps on HtoD?
I’ve achieved 11GBps on my OpenCL stuff and even the bandwidthTest sample states that I should be getting ~11GBps.

Or is it that I’m just looking at the profiler incorrectly?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Another question would be does, cudaMallocManaged create pinned memory? I would assume that it does but it always helps to make sure.

Thanks,

BHa

#include "cuda_runtime.h"
#include "device_launch_parameters.h"

#include <stdio.h>

#include <iostream>
#include <math.h>

//for perf. counters
#include <Windows.h>

using namespace std;

// Kernel function to add the elements of two arrays
__global__ void add(float *a, float *b, float *c)
{
   const int x = threadIdx.x;
   const int y = blockIdx.x;
   const int width = blockDim.x;

const int id = y * width + x;

c[id] = a[id] + b[id];
}

int main(void)
{
   int N = 4194304;
   size_t size = N * sizeof(float);
   int blockSize = 128;
   int numBlocks = (N + blockSize - 1) / blockSize;

LARGE_INTEGER perfFrequency;
   LARGE_INTEGER performanceCountNDRangeStart;
   LARGE_INTEGER performanceCountNDRangeStop;

float *x = NULL;
   float *y = NULL;
   float *z = NULL;

// Allocate Unified Memory – accessible from CPU or GPU
   cudaMallocManaged(&x, size);
   cudaMallocManaged(&y, size);
   cudaMallocManaged(&z, size);

// initialize x and y arrays on the host
   for (int i = 0; i < N; ++i) 
   {
      x[i] = 1.0f;
      y[i] = 2.0f;
   }
   cout << "\nSingle Queue\n";