Newbie CUDA and CFD Some questions about CDA programming

Hello everyone,

I am a student and very new to CUDA.

For my thesis I made some calculations with a CFD program written in Fortran.
I have read all the threads here about CUDA and Fortran and now I unsure what to do.

First, there are two versions of the programm, a single CPU version and a multi-cpu (mpi).
So the first question is, what version to choose to modify?

Would there be any speed advantage by using the original Fortran code?
Should I try to change the code to C?
Or would you say just wait until CUDA supports Fortran?

At the moment I am using the CUDA Wizard with VS2005, the program is called FDS from NIST. Source files can be found here:
[url=“GitHub - firemodels/fds: Fire Dynamics Simulator”]GitHub - firemodels/fds: Fire Dynamics Simulator

Thank you all

Mirko

The mpi version is of no help when porting to cuda. The cuda programming

model is very different from mpi.

You can keep your Fortran code for problem setup (e.g. setting up your

mass matrix, etc.). Then call the cuda code (in C) from Fortran to do the

time stepping.

Sounds good.

Are there any examples how to do that? Everytime I search for cuda and fortran I got thousands links, that cuda should support fortran soon but no example how to do it :(

I believe there is an example on the CUDA zone.
You can do now: call CUDA code (written in C) from Fortran
You can do in the (near) future: write CUDA code in C++ & Fortran

There is indeed an example of calling CUDA code from Fortran, but every call to the CUDA function involves allocating memory on the GPU, transferring the Fortran array to the GPU, calling the kernel, and then reading the results back. That’s a lot of back and forth transferring of data for a CFD simulation.