Nuts on enviroment and config!

first post…please bare with me
wow…what a mess!
I design scary big HPCs for a living. Prior, I’d spent 25+ years designing robotics, factory automated test and manufacturing systems… I’ve been programming since the 70’s. Have at least 30 various embedded technologies under my belt, so I figured one more 'puter…no big deal.

What a convoluted mess of info there is for this new (to me) TX1 dev board. Two days I’ve spent reading dev docs and other base info…just to find out the revisions of this ‘as supplied’ operating system pretty much voids all the reason I bothered to buy it! (is now 64 bit /64 bit) with most coding examples and libs still 32 bit.

The worst part… seems this board as delivered (LT4 running r24.1) is scrambled… can’t get the as installed ff browser to run (apparently 32 bit FF) and just now hit a wall… GIT can’t be found??

Online info is so convoluted with so much out of date and interspersed versions it’s hard to even figure out WHAT is the right path forward. Updating the op sys needs a second computer?..running a specific version of Linux?? What ever happened to Debians at least?

…sorry…sounds like griping here… just amazed that such a forward tech is so scattered

Ok to the point. … a Q… why can’t an entire opsys with libs be config’ed and imaged to these boards. Did I totally miss something somewhere?? More so …how to know you’ve included the proper libs to use the resources presented?

tia

So… obligatory question…
What is the best path forward, updating to what appears to be v28.x. … docs

I don’t know how much experience you have with Linux itself, but it comes in handy. So forgive me if I mention things you already know.

64-bit/32-bit

There are actually two environments to consider if programming entire operating systems. One is kernel space, the other is user space. Most of the time the two are both the same instruction set, so both are either 64-bit or 32-bit…most of the time.