Nvlink error : File uses too much global constant data (0x100a8 bytes, 0x10000 max)

Hi everyone,
I am new to cuda, many thanks to any help in advance.

I am trying to add a couple of features to an already existing repo and I got the error in the title.
From other posts in the forum I understood that I have to look up if I am using too much cmem.

I am compiling for target sm_61, and if I compare the ptxas infos of the repo before and after my changes the difference is only about cmem[0], of 16 bytes, but I don’t find anywhere the total possible amount of cmem[0].

You’re limited to 64K bytes of __constant__ data. The first thing I would suggest is to inspect your code. Do you have __constant__ declarations in your code? If so, those declarations must all be for a compile-time constant size. So it should be possible to total up that kind of usage through code inspection.

Thanks for your reply!
The 64kB are so referred to all the X “types” of cmem [ X ] all together?
There were some __constant__ data already decleared in the repo (that was compiling with no issue on sm_61), I haven’t added any others __constant__ declaration.

The 64KB are in reference to the one particular cmem[X] bank that is used for __constant__ data. There are other constant banks, e.g. the constant bank used to pass arguments to __global__ functions.

Note that all code that lives in user space can contribute to __constant__ usage. In particular this is also true for code in the CUDA standard math library. For example, the trigonometric functions require a small table of __constant__ data for argument reduction.

So, if your code changes not only added 16 bytes of __constant__ data, but also introduced a call to a double-precision trig function where no such function was used before, that could explain the difference in constant bank usage.

[Later:]