Please help: different result, emu vs non emu

Dear all CUDA developers,

I just started programming CUDA, and here I`m stuck at a very-very simple matrix multiplication code. The problem is, the result between emulation and device code is different. What should I do? Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you very much.

Host function:

void Matrix::MulDevice(const Matrix& A, const Matrix& B)

{

dim3 dimBlock(A.width, B.height);

dim3 dimGrid(1,1);

#ifdef __DEVICE_EMULATION__

printf("beginning multiplication\n");

#endif

MatrixMulKernelV1<<<dimGrid, dimBlock>>>(this, &A, &B);

printf("end multiplication\n");

#endif

}

Kernel function:

__global__ void MatrixMulKernelV1(Matrix* R, const Matrix* A, const Matrix* B)

{

int tx = threadIdx.x;

int ty = threadIdx.y;

printf("thread %d,%d \n", tx, ty);

#endif

float pValue = 0.0f;

for (int k = 0; k < A->width; k++)

{

float AElement = MatrixGetElmt(A, k, ty);

float BElement = MatrixGetElmt(B, tx, k);

pValue += AElement * BElement; 

}

MatrixSetElmt(R, tx, ty, pValue);

}

At first glance I see nothing wrong in the algorithm, however

You probably don’t ever want to run a grid of 1x1 dimension, as it will not occupy the whole GPU, just a single shader multiprocessor. Your 8600GT has 2 of these.

If the number of threads in a block A.width * B.height exceeds 512, your kernel will no longer launch - as 512 is the maximum number of threads per block. Could this be the culprit?

I suggest adding CUT_CHECK_ERROR and CUDA_SAFE_CALL macros as it is done in the SDK code examples. When running in Debug mode you will see failures due to invalid arguments and other error conditions indicated clearly.

Christian

PS: the next step should be to split up the output matrix into several segments, each of which is computed by one thread block. This allows you to reduce the size of a single thread block and use a larger grid. A good number of threads per block is 256.

Thank you,